Just another WordPress.com weblog

GOD!

I have been home for a week now with my beautiful bride to be and I have had some time to think and process. This summer was a world wind of excitement and of sadness. I have been extremely blessed to see God work through our ministry at Northwest Haiti Christian Mission and in my life. I have seen my relationships grow with the missionaries as well as the Haitians. I feel like my family has continued to grow and as I start this process of joining my family with Natasha’s, it will grow even more. I have had my heart broken by death in Haiti over and over again, but I have seen the birth of many new lives in Christ. I am continuing to grow in my faith as well as developing as a missionary. I feel like I’m just starting to get a grasp on being a missionary and I’m trying to understand what it means to be a stranger in two lands. I don’t totally fit in in Haiti and I feel like a foreigner in my own land. Most people don’t understand what what it is like, but the few that do understand will see my heart. People ask me all the time what do you do? ” I’m a missionary in Haiti” I reply. “Oh thats nice” or “It must be hard”. I reply “Yes it is, but I love it” and the conversation ends. This happens day in and day out. It’s even harder sometimes with friends and family. They want to help and they try to understand, but it is so hard to explain. I do not put the blame on others; I have to take responsibility for my own actions. I often avoid talking about the harder topics and the pain of day in and day out activities. It is also so hard to explain the mighty rush of God’s power and Spirit descending on a group of people or even me. I wish I were a writer so I could share with words what is going on in Haiti and in my own life. For now all I can say is GOD IS ENOUGH and PRAISE HIM FROM WHO ALL BLESSING FLOW!

2 responses

  1. Hey Grant

    That’s right. Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

    I’d love to treat you to lunch someday and hear how God’s worked through and on you while in Haiti. Is “home” still Savannah?

    August 12, 2010 at 2:32 am

  2. Claudia Root

    Grant,
    We are so excited for you and Natasha! we love and miss you and we want to hear all about what it is like to be a missionary in Haiti. I still want to come one day to visit and help if I can. Keep us updated.

    August 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

