Just another WordPress.com weblog

Where to begin????????????

Where to begin is an understatement. I have had the most amazing week in Haiti that I think I have ever had! It was full of trials as well as great joy. It began last friday when I had a 102 fever. I woke up on friday morning with a 102 fever and I was just not feeling the 6 hour trip to the Mole in the back of a pickup truck. I decide that I wouldn’t go and try to go the next morning. The truck was supposed to leave at 8 in the morning with two of the missionaries and my best friend patrick to head to the Mole. It was 8:30 when Junior came into the room and asked if I was going. I had thought the truck the truck had already left. I made a rash decision and decide that since the truck hadn’t left I would go. I felt ok in the beginning, but by the time we had reached Jean-Rebel I was catatonic. I finally reached Jody’s house and I was helped inside. They took my temperature. It was a 103.2 and rising they pulled it out and put me in the shower to cool me off. The Savannah team arrived from Port-au-Prince and Patty ,who was a physicians assistant, came and checked me out. She said I had really bad strep. She put me on IV and gave me a shot of steroids. I went to the hotel and went to bed. I was in bed for two days until my fever broke. It was a night and day difference. I went to church on sunday and got to meet the team from Savannah. It was fun to hang out with old friends and meet some new ones. Our main focus was a free clinic for the people of the mole and the outlying villages. It was amazing it was more than just a clinic it was indescribable. We heard so many stories and got to know the people. It was a time of physical and spiritual healing. The coolest experience for me was when we went to this little fishing village. You can really only get there by boat. It was an untouched part of Haiti. They were pretty self-sufficient. They lived very simply. I got to preach for about 20 min. The people were very receptive. I was honored to be in their presence. The people gave me a huge lobster as a gift. It was an unbelievable experience. The adventures continued. We left the village on a little fiberglass boat. the water was pretty rough. patrick and I were baling water in the back. We made it safely back to Jody’s house. The next day was the day the group had to go to Port-au-Prince. We left at 2 o’clock. We were just about to land it Port-au-Prince, but the weather was too rough. So we had to land in Jacmel. We waited there for about an hour and headed to Port-au-Prince. It was storming and lighting all around us. It was an amazing adventure. We landed safely, but when we landed we saw what the storm had done. A lot of the tent were destroyed and some big billboard had fallen. We made our way to the hotel were we prepared for bed and said our goodbyes. The group surprised me with a foot washing ceremony. It was very humbling. The group left the next morning and it was a sad occasion. I head back to the mission. I was invited to dinner by Jacque one of our interpreters. It was the most humbling experience. We met at store in Port de Paix. He bought me a Gatorade and we headed to his house. This is the first time I have ever had dinner at Haitian’s home. We sat at his dinner table and I met his mom and dad. His dad was ex Haitian military, but now had a humble garden. His mom had a small store as well as cooked meals on the side of the street. We ate an amazing meal prepared by Jacque’s mom. We had a really good conversation about everything. Then he wanted me to meet some of his friends. We went to his friends store and hung out. They were super generous and nice. we talked for a while getting to know each other. It was time for me to go and Jacque didn’t want me to take a taxi by myself. So his friend loaded the car with me and the family. They drove me all the way to the mission. I was so humbled by the whole night. No one asked for anything and I was given more than I deserved. GOD is good!

Leave a Reply

