Just another WordPress.com weblog

I will praise you in this storm!!!

As I wrote earlier cholera has hit our shores. It has been a difficult day couple of days. This is the first time I have had to sit down and process. I woke up with a knock on my door from Heather on sunday asking if I still had any contact with the USS Iwo Jima. The outbreak was and is continuing to spiral out of control. We have had over 400 patients and 5-10 coming every hour. Before church on sunday I had already carried two dead children one kid that around 6 and another that was 13. I never thought I would have to read a manual on how to dispose of bodies. It is an image that I regret that I have in my life now, but it is a reality. Janeil was sick on sunday and is still fighting it today with a fever. There is so much to do. It works out well because it kept my mind busy. At some points all I could do was just listen to the sound of my flip-flops. Clop clop to keep moving forward. We also had a child in renal failure. We had a helicopter come and get him which was a huge blessing. They also dropped of some medical personal to help us out because we were drowning. We have help on the way tomorrow which is a huge blessing. Please continue to pray for the mission and our staff. They say that the next 3 months will be the worst. Thank you so much for all of your support and love. Our stats for now are over 400 cases and 9 deaths we have also had some deaths on arrival. We really need a huge water filtration system and IV fluids we are going through almost 1000 a day.

Leave a Reply

